Archive for April 13, 2008

Midwest Gaming Classic 2008 – Arcades & Pins video

April 13, 2008

Here is a video of a walk through the pinball and arcade area of the Midwest Gaming Classic. The pins definently outnumber the arcades from the looks of it but either way I’m certain that MGC was a lot of fun. That is another event I’d love to go to in the future and meet up with some other classic gaming fans. Video by DhgHunter.

And what the heck, I’ll post the video for the museum walk-through as well, if you love classic games then it’s fun to check out all this stuff. I love the collection of Atari Lynx games around .45 sec in, I have only about 20 Lynx games but I would love to have as many as are in this video! I also have a NUON which shows up at about 1:27 in the video (not many gamers know of that system) and an Atari Jaguar right next to it which I have a large collection for. Lots of Gamecubes were at the show for some reason. There are a lot of systems that show up in the video that I’d like to get one day, but I only have so much room in my house. :) Video also by DhgHunter

Video of the Main Hall which features more arcades that I had previously overlooked.

[Discuss on the Forum]

Atari Star Wars on an oscilloscope

April 13, 2008

It’s been a long weekend for me (working, not playing) so I haven’t had a lot of opportunities to scour for news but I did come across this youtube video of someone running the classic Atari coin-op Star Wars on their oscilloscope. Since oscilloscopes use a vector display it’s possible to recreate the experience fairly well on the tiny screen although you’ll see the retrace lines which aren’t normally in the game and of course its a monochrome display so you miss out on the color from the actual game.

[Discuss on the Forum]


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers