Archive for December 29, 2007

The Krow's Nest Operating 6 Ball Bowling Machines

December 29, 2007

This is something I have been pondering for some time. There is a local arcade near me called the Krow’s nest, and they are operating 6 of the large, ball bowling machines. This arcade is a combination kids family fun center and arcade. Yes you heard me, 6 of them. These are not the small puck bowlers either, these are the real ones made in the 1960’s or 70’s and are played with a ball similar to a skee ball. I really don’t know much about bowling machines like these, but I know its extremely unusual to find even one operating in an arcade in this day and age, and that its quite an undertaking to restore even one of these machines to working condition. I have been going to arcades since the 1980’s and I have never seen even one of these machines in an arcade, until now that is.

I have not spoken to anyone at the arcade about these machines, but there is an obvious obsession with bowling machines going on here. You all know the story, it started with one machine, and now there are 6. I am unsure if all 6 are operational, but they are definitely there. I am curious about how far they are going to take this obsession, if there are 6 now, how many will there be in the future?

I took these pictures back when they had 2-3 machines and were just bringing more in. Click the links below to view the pictures.

Bowling Machines at Krow’s Nest

Restoring a Bowling Machine

Here is a link to the web page of The Krow’s Nest Arcade, in case anyone is wondering where it is.

The Krows Nest

The Krow’s Nest Operating 6 Ball Bowling Machines

December 29, 2007

This is something I have been pondering for some time. There is a local arcade near me called the Krow’s nest, and they are operating 6 of the large, ball bowling machines. This arcade is a combination kids family fun center and arcade. Yes you heard me, 6 of them. These are not the small puck bowlers either, these are the real ones made in the 1960’s or 70’s and are played with a ball similar to a skee ball. I really don’t know much about bowling machines like these, but I know its extremely unusual to find even one operating in an arcade in this day and age, and that its quite an undertaking to restore even one of these machines to working condition. I have been going to arcades since the 1980’s and I have never seen even one of these machines in an arcade, until now that is.

I have not spoken to anyone at the arcade about these machines, but there is an obvious obsession with bowling machines going on here. You all know the story, it started with one machine, and now there are 6. I am unsure if all 6 are operational, but they are definitely there. I am curious about how far they are going to take this obsession, if there are 6 now, how many will there be in the future?

I took these pictures back when they had 2-3 machines and were just bringing more in. Click the links below to view the pictures.

Bowling Machines at Krow’s Nest

Restoring a Bowling Machine

Here is a link to the web page of The Krow’s Nest Arcade, in case anyone is wondering where it is.

The Krows Nest

Street Fighter 4 gameplay video

December 29, 2007

Via 1up, from the lucky guys who got to go and play the new SFIV. It’s good to see an arcde game getting such a high profile look at it but that’s probably because they care more about the console versions than the arcade version itself. The video is about twenty minutes long and there is plenty of SFIV gameplay to see (in between their commentary which is hit or miss). One nice thing we catch is they are trying to make it easy for anyone to play instead of just SF experts. Video posted by youtube user kyroed.

[Discuss on the forum]


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers