Archive for November 23, 2007

Some brief IAAPA 2007 coverage

November 23, 2007

iaapa-attractions-expo-9238-1.gif

[Via Barcade.com]

Barcade has posted two articles on their experience at this year’s IAAPA event. There are some descriptions of games we’ve discussed here including the new Sea Wolf, TrioTech’s UFO Stomper, Sega’s RaceTV and what makes it interesting and Sega’s Primeval Hunt. So far everything I have read about Primeval Hunt gives it a thumbs up, I can’t wait to try it out myself. For the full reports, hit the links below.

[Barcade IAAPA Report Part I] [IAAPA Report Part II] [Discuss on the Forum]

Insert Coins To Continue – Edge Arcade Article – Nov '98

November 23, 2007

page-1-large.jpgpage-2-large.jpgpage-3-large.jpg

page-4-large.jpgpage-5-large.jpgpage-6-large.jpg 

I was rooting through all my old issues of Edge’s this week and came across this great article about the arcade industry in the late nineties. This was also the period when Edge covered arcades a hell of a lot more than they do today. They even had a review section just for arcade games! Granted it was only two pages, but to be fair there are less arcade games out there than console ones.

Just click on the thumbnails to enlarge the scans and read away. I will be going through all my Edges now and finding all I can on arcades. Think of it as our retro look back, except it’s not ours, it’s Edge’s! (better link to them twice seeing as they done all the work :-) )

[Discuss on the Forum]

Insert Coins To Continue – Edge Arcade Article – Nov ’98

November 23, 2007

page-1-large.jpgpage-2-large.jpgpage-3-large.jpg

page-4-large.jpgpage-5-large.jpgpage-6-large.jpg 

I was rooting through all my old issues of Edge’s this week and came across this great article about the arcade industry in the late nineties. This was also the period when Edge covered arcades a hell of a lot more than they do today. They even had a review section just for arcade games! Granted it was only two pages, but to be fair there are less arcade games out there than console ones.

Just click on the thumbnails to enlarge the scans and read away. I will be going through all my Edges now and finding all I can on arcades. Think of it as our retro look back, except it’s not ours, it’s Edge’s! (better link to them twice seeing as they done all the work :-) )

[Discuss on the Forum]


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers